- Created Thursday, May 4th 2017 @ 14:34:02
Hi, in the 'Rules' tab it says the following about the suicide rule:
This rule states that a stone cannot be placed on a point where it immediately has no liberties. If it would have been possible, the stone would be removed from the board anyway at the end of the turn (see above). Have a look at the image to the right. The A marks an example of the suicide rule.
This seems to contradict the definition on britgo.org(https://www.britgo.org/intro/intro2.html):
A player may not self-capture, that is play a stone into a position where it would have no liberties or form part of a string which would thereby have no liberties, unless, as a result, one or more of the stones surrounding it is captured.
In addition, the java starter bot has a method isSuicideMove() that doesn't seem to take the exception mentioned in the britgo.org quote into account.
So my question is, what rule does the game engine follow? Will it allow the placement of stones on a spot that initially has no liberties, but the filling of which will result in the capture of the surrounding enemy stones, thus generating liberties?
- Created Tuesday, May 16th 2017 @ 03:17:19
Yes, I believe it does allow capturing by a group which would otherwise have no liberties.
I'm not sure exactly how the suicide rule is enforced in the engine, but you are right, the Java starter bot is not correct.